About me

Hi there! 👋 I'm Ante Tomić, a Senior Software Engineer at Infobip since the sunny days of 2016. Even though I've dealt with a 55% hearing loss in both ears and I didn't have an easy life, I never let it stop me and I like to think that only sky is the limit. Here's a bit about me:

ante 2022.jpg

Most Important Highlights:

  • 🎓 Graduated from Zagreb’s Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing (FER) with a Master of Science in Computing (2017)
  • 🦄🦆 Working as a Senior Software Engineer at Infobip since the sunny days of 2016
  • 🦻 Hearing-impaired with 55% hearing loss in both ears.
  • 🚀 Despite being hearing-impaired, I’ve never seen it as a barrier. Instead, it's propelled me to reach for the stars!

Why I Love Software Engineering:

Software engineering is not just a job; it’s what brings me joy, much like rubber ducks which I love!!! 🦆🦆 I like diving deeper into the technical side of creating Node.JS and Web apps and I enjoy:

  • Playing with Web Infrastructure
  • Working with React, Node.JS, Express, Nest.JS, TypeScript, and JavaScript
  • Optimizing builds with tools like Webpack and Jenkins
  • Innovating and connecting ideas for cool solutions 🔗💡
  • And much more!

Community:

Tech community is pretty important to me and the Zagreb tech scene knows me well for:

  • My active involvement in meetups; either speaking, networking, or just participating and learning
  • Offering a hand with public speaking or tech queries—always here to help 🌟
  • Swapping ideas over a tea or coffee and sharing my Web development insights ☕️👨‍💻

I am an active conference speaker and I like talking about topics I care and know a lot about, especially accessibility.

Life Beyond Code:

When I'm not coding, I have my own hobbies which are my own life's simple pleasures:

  • 🎵 Discovering new songs on Spotify
  • 🏞️ Going for a nice long walk and hiking with my camera, capturing moments one at a time
  • 🧳✈️ Traveling and exploring the world, different locations, and interesting things to try
  • 📸 I'm slowly getting into travel blogging to share worldwide stories
  • 😊 Very extroverted and love connecting with people at events or casual hangouts

My Philosophy:

There’s a playful saying that I’d trade coffee or tea for an extra day each week – there’s just so much out there to learn, do, and experience! But hey, a life lived to its fullest is a beautiful life indeed, don't you think? Let's make every moment count! 🌟🌟🌟